Road to the FIFA Futsal World Cup 2020

The first rounds of the 2020 FIFA World Futsal Cup start 29th January 2019. It involves 48 teams aiming for six places alongside hosts Lithuania in the 24-team finals.

The National teams will likely be coming together this week for pre-game training camps and flying out at the weekend. The finals will eventually be hosted in Lituania, who was chosen to host over Iran, Japan and New Zealand. Lithuania has never hosted a FIFA final before but has football's 2013 UEFA European Under-19 Championship and 2018 UEFA European Women's Under-17 Championship.

Lithuania FF Twitter: @ltfutbolas

The 9th Edition of the FIFA Futsal World Cup

The 2020 FIFA Futsal World Cup will be the 9th edition of the FIFA Futsal World Cup, the quadrennial international futsal championship contested by the men's national teams of the member associations of FIFA.

It will be the third time the Futsal World Cup has been held in Europe and the first since Spain hosted in 1996. Alongside hosts Lithuania, Europe will supply six more of the 24 contenders (four elite round winners, and two winners of play-offs involving the elite round runners-up). England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland are all in attendance for the preliminary round, hoping to progress onto the Main Round, being held in late October this year.

60 million futsal players

Preliminary round draw (29 January–3 February 2019)

Group A: Latvia*, England, Cyprus, Gibraltar

Group B: Belarus*, Norway, Kosovo, Andorra

Group C: FYR Macedonia*, Albania, Greece, San Marino

Group D: Georgia*, Denmark, Germany, Israel

Group E: Belgium, Sweden*, Armenia, Malta

Group F: Bosnia and Herzegovina*, Turkey, Switzerland, Scotland

Group G: Netherlands, Montenegro, Bulgaria*, Estonia

Group H: Finland, Moldova*, Wales, Northern Ireland


The top two teams in each group will progress to the main round.

There are World Cup debuts for Germany, Kosovo and Scotland, plus Northern Ireland, making their bow in any international men's futsal competition - Good luck to them!


Main round draw (22–27 October 2019)

Group 1: Spain, Poland*, Preliminary round Group D winners, Preliminary round Group H runners-up

Group 2: Ukraine*, Slovenia, Preliminary round Group C winners, Preliminary round Group B runners-up

Group 3: Azerbaijan*, Slovakia, Preliminary round Group H winners, Preliminary round Group G runners-up

Group 4: Italy*, Hungary, Preliminary round Group B winners, Preliminary round Group A runners-up

Group 5: Kazakhstan, Romania*, Preliminary round Group G winners, Preliminary round Group C runners-up

Group 6: Serbia, France*, Preliminary round Group E winners, Preliminary round Group F runners-up

Group 7: Russia, Croatia*, Preliminary round Group F winners, Preliminary round Group E runners-up

Group 8: Portugal*, Czech Republic, Preliminary round Group A winners, Preliminary round Group D runners-up


The top two teams in each group will progress to the elite round.

Spain has qualified for all eight previous World Cups, winning in 2000 and 2004.

Russia lost the 2016 final to Argentina, 5-4.

Portugal is the reigning European champions, defeating Spain 3-2, aet.


The road to Lithuania: calendar

Elite round draw: 7 November 2019

Elite round: 28 January–2 February 2020

Play-off draw: tbc, Nyon

Play-offs: 9 & 12 April 2020

Finals draw: tbc, Lithuania


Previous Futsal World Cup finals (hosts)

2016: Argentina 5-4 Russia (Colombia)

2012: Brazil 3-2 aet Spain (Thailand)

2008: Brazil 2-2, 4-3 pens Spain (Brazil)

2004: Spain 2-1 Italy (Chinese Taipei)

2000: Spain 4-3 Brazil (Guatemala)

1996: Brazil 6-4 Spain (Spain)

1992: Brazil 4-1 United States (Hong Kong)

1989: Brazil 2-1 Netherlands (Netherlands)



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Your Name *
Your Email *